RSS

Just add food + friends

27 Jan

For the first time ever I decided to host a small Australia Day affair at my house this week.

mixer

The idea was a last minute one and was completely based around my friend wanting to see my KitchenAid mixer in action.

My main goal was to whip up a pavlova for the first time, which is a daunting task at best!

IMG_1181

Thankfully on the day I was up at the crack of dawn with a crazy amount of energy. Without this the pav could have been a tragedy due to needing it to cool in the oven for a lengthy period of time.

old frittata

As usual I made one of my famous frittatas, which disappeared too quickly to photograph so the above pic is one that I’ve made in the last month.

Frittata tips

1 Invest in a really high quality pan, this is the time to splurge a little.
2 Whisk the eggs till there are lots of bubbles. Bubbles = fluffy frittata
3 Take your time, put the heat on low, sprinkle with parmesan, put the heat on and walk away for at least 20 minutes.

I learnt a great technique for cooking sausages on the day which really helped this little vegetarian. A Jamie Oliver website suggested getting a flat baking tray lined with baking paper, then place a wire rack on top (I used my cooling racks), then space out the sausages. They cooked at 200 degrees Celcius for approximately 20 minutes.

I can’t personally vouch for the flavour, but it was a really effective way of cooking a large amount of sausages without a barbecue.

IMG_1176

For all the usual nom noms there was a delectable cheese platter, with camembert and triple cream brie that had everyone going back for more, bhuja mix, peanuts, pistachios, and corn chips.

IMG_1179

Clearly the food and company were too great to remember to picture everything, but at least I remembered the brownies and vanilla cake.

IMG_1178

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 27, 2012 in Foody

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
