RSS

Testing The Oven For Hot Spots

26 Feb

After having a few mishaps with my oven recently I decided to experiment and find the hot spots.

IMG_1442

After employing some google-fu, I was inspired to do a toast test. So I bought some cheap white bread at the supermarket today for $1.00.

Not wanting to waste perfectly good food, I decided to use a pastry brush to lightly coat the bread with melted butter to make croutons at the same time.

IMG_1443

I had to remove 2 of the slices due to how quickly they were cooking compared to the rest of the oven, which is exactly the type of result I was expecting.

IMG_1445

As well as enjoying a tasty salad I was happy to learn a little along the way, and to feel like I am finally starting to understand how to cook with an electric oven.

At the end of this experience I believe that I am now a little older and a little wiser, and better equipped to bake tasty morsels for my friends and workmates.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 26, 2012 in Foody

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
