RSS

Yum Cha Heaven

18 Mar

So with some lovely friends in tow I had my first adventure in Yum Cha since I was about 6 years old.  Some would say 20-something years without Yum Cha is a travesty, and I would have to agree with them!

We decided on visiting Gold Leaf chinese restaurant in Burwood East on a recommendation from one of the group.

IMG_1550

We went to the 11am session on a Saturday morning and thankfully I had the good sense to book a table in advance. When I arrived I found that the car park was close to full, with many people running inside when the doors opened.

I was completely mesmerised by the decor and general atmosphere of the restaurant, I simply could not wait for my friends to arrive!

IMG_1557

One of the people in the group found that he was quite excited whenever the food came past so the options on the lazy susan were constantly changing.

IMG_1556

I was scared that there would be scant options in the vegetarian department, so I was pleasantly surprised when I discovered that I could order additional items that weren’t on the trolleys, and that there were a few options floating around the place anyway.

IMG_1554

My happy moments of the meal were the abundance of jasmine tea, chinese custard doughnuts, and the chinese egg tart. Anyone would think that I like custard…..

IMG_1559

I was pleasantly surprised at how fun and amazing an experience Yum Cha could be, and decided that this would be a great option to take my Mum out for mother’s day this year.

In fact I am looking for any opportunity to visit this place again and I hope it does not take another 20 years to have Yum Cha again.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on March 18, 2012 in Foody, wordy

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

One response to “Yum Cha Heaven

Leave a Reply

 
